Vacation

So I started this blog and what do I do? Go away for a week!

I didn’t go far, just the next province over to visit some friends. Now, usually when I go away I find it difficult to manage my weight loss and/or food intake. I find that almost all the events I manage to plan with friends revolves around food – perhaps a lunch or dinner or bbq in the summer or drinks. Inevitably I stop keeping track of what I’m eating or how many drinks I’ve had.

I feel like this week has been a turning point for me. I was able to go away and still keep my dedication to weight loss in the forefront. Now, don’t get me wrong I don’t mean that all I can think about day in day out is weight loss and what I’m eating, but rather that I think I am starting to make better choices when it comes to the foods I choose to eat.

It’s the little changes – like not getting that side, or not eating everything that’s on my plate. I think I’m becoming more conscious about not only what I want to eat, but also what I need to eat.  I’m slowly getting better at stopping eating once I’m full. This has been a real challenge for me over the years, and perhaps gets even more of a challenge during vacations.

This time around I found it easier to stop when I was full. I’m not sure why, but I think it may have to do with my new found resolve lose weight.  I have realized that I am committed to it – I’ve been chosing to walk instead of taking the bus, or taking the stairs instead of the elevator, or not eating the rice that comes with my meal because it wasn’t very good and I didn’t want it. These little changes that I realized I never really made before. When I lost all the weight 4 years ago (52lbs!) I never did make these adjustments and I gained it all back (plus!).  But this time, the changes are easier. And I think it’s these changes that helped me stay on track during my vacation. And you know what? It made my vacation even better because I wasn’t feeling weighed down by my latest meal where I’d overindulged.

I walked everywhere and I stopped eating when I was full. The little things that were so hard before are slowly getting easier.

2 thoughts on “Vacation

  1. I find it really hard to stick to healthy eating on vacation, too. I’ve made enough changes to my lifestyle that I usually make healthy choices, but will add in more treats than I usually have. Then it takes me a week or two to get back to my regular diet.

    Good job!!! Little changes do add up 🙂

Leave a Reply

