Slimming in September

As a way to motivate myself to keep active I’ve joined a group on the WW forums called Slimming in September. The way it works is we come up with our personal goals for the month of pounds lost and minutes spent on activity (exercise). These are actually great for me as by nature I am a very competitive person – especially against myself!

I did the August challenge as well and it worked well to keep me motivated and push me to get more activity into my day-to-day life. It’s one of the reasons I started my walks home from work and why I’ve  kept them up.  My goals for the August challenge were to lose 8lbs and do 600 minutes of activity. My final totals were 11lbs lost and 710 minutes!

For September  my goals are to lose 8lbs (which averages to about 2 per week) and I’ve upped my activity so I will strive for 800 minutes. I’m already on track with weight loss as I was down 3 last week.

The most exciting news is my activity. I was  bit worried about getting up to 800 minutes. My walk is now taking me only 45 minutes instead of the hour it used to so that means I have to get more exercise in to reach my goals. I don’t think this is a bad thing! So far it’s looking good – I’ve done 365 minutes of activity so far this month!

My Gym!

Most of it is my walking home and also my WW video at home. With the weather taking a drastic turn towards Autumn temperatures I’m thinking now is a good time to get back to the gym – so that’s where I spent my Friday night. I did 50 minutes on the elliptical (when I usually only do 35!) and 40 minutes resistance training. I want to be sure I’m including weights in my workouts from the very beginning – so that I am toning my muscles (which hopefully will be visible one day!), helping tighten my skin, and increasing my metabolism.  My plan is to get to the gym at least once a week over Fall to increase my activity.

4 thoughts on “Slimming in September

  1. Hi! I discovered your blog through A Fat Girl Blog and thought what the heck I’ll check it out and I’m glad I did! Love the way you’re challenging yourself. I’m into my 6th day on this go around, but having problems getting out the door for a walk. Reading the successes and idea of others is alot more inspirationsl than I thought it would be. Thanks and I hope you have a great day!

    • Hi!

      Welcome and Thanks! I love challenging myself – it puts my best/worst qualities to work FOR me rather than AGAINST me. I’m such a sterotypical virgo – perfectionist & competitive – that I find competing against myself really helps keep my motivation up. It doesn’t hurt that I have to report how I’m doing online (on the forums). Although it’s informal, it still helps me stay on track 🙂

      I’ll be sure to check out your blog too! Good luck and hope you’ve had a great day!

  2. Pingback: Outstanding in October « Pound per Pound

  3. Pingback: Friday Nights at the Gym « Pound per Pound

Leave a Reply

