Thanksgiving!

It’s Thanksgiving long weekend here and tonight I had a great dinner with a dear friend. No turkey, but rather Cornish hens – lots of veggies and of course, pumpkin pie!

My friend made all the food and I contributed the pumpkin pie. I found the recipe on the Joy of Baking website and decided this was a great occasion to not only make my first every pastry – Pate Brisee – but to also make fresh pumpkin puree. Here are pics of the yummy dinner and my adventures in making my first ever pumpkin pie:

The ingredients

 

Making the Pate Brisee

 

The dough! Chilled and ready to roll out.

 

Roasted pumpking out of the oven.

Peeled pumpkin.

Pumpkin puree. It took a Magic Bullet and a hand blender to get it this smooth.

Filling ingredients. I added some nutmeg to the recipe.

Filling ready to be poured in.

Pie ready for the oven

SUCCESS! My first ever pumpkin pie - entirely from scratch.

 

The rest of the dinner consisted of: Purple Cauliflower

 

Sweet Potatoes and Yellow Peppers with a roasted pecan & mustard seed dressing, sprinkled with green onions.

 

and BBQ'd Cornish Hens!

 

Yummy! The end of a great night.

Happy Thanksgiving!

3 thoughts on “Thanksgiving!

  1. Happy Canadian Thanksgiving! I was born in Canada but I live in the States now but our family use to still celebrate it. That pumpkin pie looked awesome!

    • Thanks so much! Happy belated Thanksgiving too 🙂 (And early American Thanksgiving!)

      Thanks for stopping by. The pie was in fact very yummy – a great ending to a wonderful dinner.

  2. Pingback: Weigh-in Week 75: Well colour me surprised « Pound per Pound

Leave a Reply

