Friday Nights at the Gym

I enjoy spending my Friday nights at the gym. In fact, I’ve started purposefully not planning events  – like nights out or dinners with friends on Friday nights. Instead, I go to the gym.

Firstly, I find the gym to be less full on Friday nights – not empty – just not packed to the brim. And secondly, I like to spend a couple hours at the gym and then come home to a nice relaxing bath with a good book and knowing that I can sleep in the next day.

Some of you may remember that back at the beginning of September I made a pledge to go to the gym at least once a week (here!), well I’m happy to report that except for one week, I’ve made it happen.  I keep track of my workouts in a log (an excel sheet I made up) so I can see how I’m doing and also to push myself each time to do just a little bit better.

Here are my stats from last night’s workout:

Elliptical: 60 minutes (same as last week)

Distance: 8420 strides (up 6 strides from last week’s total fo 8414)

Distance: 4.65 (down .36 from last week’s total of 5.01 – miles or km…I’m still not sure) I’m not sure how I got in more strides, but less distance. Maybe my strides were shorter? Or because I used a different machine?

I did however increase my resistance and the incline this week so I’m proud of that!

I also spent 45 minutes weight training:

Shoulder Press: 3 sets of 12 reps at 30lbs

Chest Press: 2 sets of 12 reps at 30lbs & 2 sets of 12 reps at 40lbs

Seated Row Machine: 3 sets of 12 reps at 30lbs

Leg Curls: 3 sets of 12 reps at 50lbs

Leg Extensions: 3 sets of 12 reps at 50lbs

All in all it was a really good workout. The plan for this weekend is an hour long walk tonight to get to a show (instead of taking the metro or bus) and tomorrow I’ll be doing my WW video for 30 mins and also trying out a new video. I bought a Gaiam Resistance Cord (light/medium resistance) and it comes with a 30 minute workout. I’m looking forward to trying it out tomorrow morning; I’ll report on how it goes.

My Outstanding in October challenge is going pretty well to, at least from an activity point of view. I’m up to 505 minutes of activity this month (out of my goal of 1000), but have only lost 1.8lbs so far (my goal was 8lbs). I don’t think I’ll make my weight loss goal, but as long as I’m losing and not gaining I’ll be happy.

Have a great weekend!

3 thoughts on “Friday Nights at the Gym

  1. Sounds like a perfect evening to me! A good workout, followed by time to chill – knowing you have a restful day the following day. ❤

Leave a Reply

