Getting to the Gym (when I don’t want to)

Let me tell you – I did NOT want to go to the gym this weekend. I have been sick all week with an annoying cough and a cold that has hit my sinuses. I haven’t had a full night’s sleep in about a week now and the last thing I wanted to do this weekend was workout.

I had planned to go Saturday, but after a day of running basic errands I was left completely exhausted. Then Sunday night rolls around and I realize that I haven’t been to the gym since last Thursday thanks to going out of town the weekend prior.

So I decided that I was going to go. My cough had subsided, my nose wasn’t running anymore. I have spray down the machines after I use them anyways so really I had no excuse.

Well how happy am I that I went! WOW! I always forget how great I feel after a good workout. I went a bit slower on the elliptical then I normally do – an average of 141 strides/min rather than 149, but I was able to still do the same incline and resistance and maintained it for 60 minutes! I was also able to put in a good 35 minutes weight training, and even upped my weights in some instances.

I need to remember this next time I’m being whiney. Getting to the gym makes me feel great.

I have to remember that losing weight and getting healthy are a priority for me. I do not want to plateau or worse, re-gain the weight.

No excuses.

Leave a Reply

