Xmas Week Strategy

Phew! What a week it has been. I’ve travelled provinces to spend the holidays with my family, have had a completely different schedule, and eaten so much!

My strategy for the week before I went into it was to eat enough to feel comfortable, indulge a little bit, and exercise every day except on traveling days. So far so good. We’ll see what my Tuesday weigh-in says, but I’m feeling pretty good that I did not gain. I’m not expecting to lose a lot (and definitely not the 2lbs I need to hit 50lbs lost) but I’m pretty sure I can expect staying the same.

So how did my strategy work out? So far pretty good! I have eaten a lot of my points, in fact I only have 10 weekly points left (which I don’t plan on using up tomorrow). I had a great xmas eve and xmas dinner. Lots of good food, yummy turkey, and chocolate. Oh Toblerone!  You are my weakness. But I didn’t eat nearly as much as I would have a year ago. I took smaller portions, filled up on veggies, and took appropriate sized desserts (yes, more than one!). I was never completely stuffed, but rather comfortable with some indulgences.

What makes me feel great about this week, however, is that I managed to exercise every day (except my traveling day) so far! So far I have gotten in 28 activity points. On Tuesday I did a great 45 minute walk home from work over the mountain. Wednesday, I hit the gym for 60 mins on the elliptical and 40 mins of weight training. Thursday was a day off due to traveling. Friday, Saturday, and Sunday I did a 50 minute video at my parent’s house each morning (Walk Away the Pound Express 3-mile). It was a great way to start the day. I might be able to get some exercise in tomorrow (which is also a traveling day) which would be a bonus, but regardless – back to eating well tomorrow. No more snacking on the occassional chocolate here and there just because they’re around.

To make this week even better… I’ve been wearing my size 14 jeans comfortably the whole time! I even tried on some old dresses while at my mom’s place, turns out my old prom and semi-formal dresses are now too big. What a great feeling. 🙂 In fact I can even fit into my mom’s old dress from before she had my brother. It made my week!

If you celebrated this week let me know how your week went. What were your strategies and did you stick to them??

2 thoughts on “Xmas Week Strategy

  1. Sounds like a great week. Exercising over the Christmas holidays can be hectic, but seems like you managed it nicely 🙂 All the best for 2011. Betty x

Leave a Reply

