Running?! Yup!

Okay, so I have no idea what I was thinking but…I made a pact with myself a while ago that when I got to under 200lbs (which hopefully will be really soon!!) I would start running. That’s right. Running. Now let’s put this in perspective – I have never run before. I mean as a sport, after a bus? Sure! Tons of times. In fact when I was in elementary school I hated running with a passion – probably because when I developed, I developed and the discomfort was unbearable so I stopped doing anything that exasperated the situation.

I feel like getting under 200 will happen soon. Hopefully next week, but if not, then in the next short while and so I’ve started my journey this week.

For xmas I got money to go towards buying a proper pair of running shoes which I promptly did on Monday. They are very cute and pink. I got them from New Balance:

They have officially been worn twice already! On Tuesday I got onto a treadmill for the first time in my life. I walked at a speed of 5 (I think it’s miles/hr) and an incline of 7% for 35 minutes. I went back to the gym this morning and did a 30 minute walk as well.

My plan is to start slow – 2 times per week on the treadmill in addition to my other workouts – and to build it up to a run. Perhaps even a 5k! (Dare I dream?)

I’m even toying with the idea of signing up for a 5k on April 17th. I can walk a 5k no problem, it takes me about 45-50 minutes so even if I can’t run it, I can always walk it, or walk part of the way. I’m not sure if this is too optimistic or if I should just go for it so I have something to work towards. I haven’t decided yet. I’ll let you know.

5 thoughts on “Running?! Yup!

  1. I recommend signing up for a 5k! Last January I signed up for one on April 10th (my b-day) and started running. At that point I was a little above 200, about 205 I think. I, like you, despised running and couldn’t run the straight of the track without getting winded. I can happily say I ran the whole thing without walking once! I’m at 180 now… I think I need to sign up for another one 🙂

    • Hi Megan,

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂 I’m thinking I might need to sign up for it – maybe find a buddy who will join me. Congrats on your 5k! That is so inspiring!!

      All the best in 2011 🙂

  2. Go for it! You’ll be happy you did. And since you’re already doing lots of walking, that gives you lots of time to work up to running 5k. And hey, you can also walk part of your 5k if you need to!

  3. Pingback: Running: The Jiggle Effect « Pound per Pound

Leave a Reply

