Uh-oh

I missed my Sunday morning video workout because I went out for breakfast with a friend, and this morning I chose to do work instead of working out (I am half self-employed so work at home a lot). This has made me feel tremendously guilty. I don’t think that’s a good thing.  I will be working until 9pm tonight and I thought I could walk home to get some activity in – except that it’s -22C (or -7.6F) here.  So, yeah, that’s not going to happen.

Ack. I don’t like this feeling guilty for not exercising thing. It’s not like I won’t workout this week – in fact I’m going tomorrow after I teach. 

Anyone else feel like this? Is this normal? Does it mean that exercising is becoming an integral part of my life or that I’m developing an unhealthy attitude to it?

2 thoughts on “Uh-oh

  1. Oh I definitely feel you here! I skipped one of my runs last week and I felt awful about it the entire day. So instead I woke up the next day and went straight to the gym to get a workout in, even though it was my rest day.

    Do you schedule your workouts each week? I find this really helps me to beat the guilt because I know exactly when I should be working out. I’m able to schedule a rest day or two, as well, so if I do happen to miss a workout – I can make it up on that rest day.

    Either way, life does happen and sometimes workouts are missed. Just try to make it up this week!!

    • Thanks! 🙂 This is completely new territory for me. I think that’s what I’m going to do – regroup tomorrow and do a longer workout. I’ll feel better about it. I’ve never found myself in a position where I’ve worried about this – I think finding a healthy schedule is the key – so I can make up workouts when I miss them.

      I do try to schedule most of my workouts, but have started teaching this semester so that’s added a new element to my schedule.

Leave a Reply

