I signed up for a 5K!

That’s it, I took the plunge and officially signed up for a 5K in April!  April 17th to be exact.  I’ve signed up for the Banque Scotia 21k & 5k here taking place at Parc Jean-Drapeau. They don’t have the 5k route up yet, but when it’s up I’ll post it here. So far I think I’m running it alone. I asked a few friends, but no one has joined me, although a friend is running the 21k. We’ll be there to support each other! I’m hoping I can convince a friend to join me, but if not that’s okay. I will run it regardless!

It’s12 weeks away.  I hope I can run the whole way without walking – that’s my goal. So far I can walk/run 5K 3K in about 30 mins. My last treadmill session I walked briskly for 5 mins and then alternated jogging (7.0mph km/h) for 60 seconds and walking (6.3mph km/h) 90 seconds. I mentioned before that I’m following the Couch to 5k program – which I am, but I’ve started at 35 mins instead of 20. I feel comfortable here so I’ll continue. I have one more session at 60/90 intervals. This coming Thursday I will bump it up to 90 seconds jogging and 120 seconds walking.

I’m only training on the treadmill twice a week for now. This is realistic for me and I don’t want to push myself with an unrealistic schdedule I can’t keep up. This is an increase from 2010 when I was going to the gym once a week (yay for small victories!). Here’s what my weekly workout schedule looks like:

Tuesday: GYM – Treadmill 35 mins; weight training (arms) 35-40mins

Wednesday: Rest or minimum 75 min walk  or Walk Away the Pounds Workout Video – either 3 or 4mile

Thursday: GYM – Treadmill 35 mins; weight training (legs) 35-40mins

Friday: Rest or Walk Away the Pounds Workout Video – either 3 or 4mile

Saturday: HOME: Walk Away the Pounds Workout Video – either 3 or 4mile

Sunday: HOME: Walk Away the Pounds Workout Video – either 3 or 4mile

Monday: Rest or Walk Away the Pounds Workout Video – either 3 or 4mile

I always make sure I have at least 2 rest days. Between Wednesday, Friday, and Monday this gives me flexibility with I need with my schedule. Because my work demands change easily from week to week this gives me the flexibility to still stay on track with my workouts, but still account for unexpected events.

I alternate between the 3 and 4 mile WATP videos depending on whether or not I want to workout with the flex band and work my arms. I try not to set a schedule for this so that I can keep my body guessing. I started the 4-mile this month. I also have a 5-mile workout video I hope to start in February.

7 thoughts on “I signed up for a 5K!

  1. Hey Lady,

    I just ran my first 5k (well not first, but first in a longlong time) this weekend.

    Based on the info you provided, I would like you to know you will do just fine. If you are already doing it in 30 min, you will definately be able to jog in the real race. And with 12 weeks to go, piece of cake. Best of luck on your journey! I’d run it with ya myself if I were in Canada;)

    • Thanks so much! I’m writing a post about it now, but I just realized at the gym today that my treadmill was on metric! D’oh! Which means I’m jogging at 7kph which is only 4.5mph! That’s okay. In my walk/run combo today I did 3.85km in 35 minutes so I have a ways to go. It doesn’t negate my progress to date, but does make more sense!! 🙂

  2. GOOD LUCK! How exciting! I wish we lived closer because I would definitely run it with you! If you have any questions, problems or want to talk about your training – just let me know 🙂

  3. Pingback: How I Exercise & How I Got Started « Pound per Pound

Leave a Reply

