Weigh-in Week 42

I was down 0.2lbs today at weigh-in.  Current weight is 190.8lbs with a total of 60.8lbs lost. Not a very big loss at all. But, hey I’ll take it because to be honest I thought I would have gained.

This was probably the one week where I can honestly say I fell off the wagon. Not only did a eat more then I needed, but I also didn’t track everything!! The last couple of days I knew I’d blown it and didn’t bother writing down a few things here and a few things there. Argh. I am very disappointed with myself. I’m finding it hard to get back on track with my eating for some reason. Maybe its the weather? Maybe I’m missing some nutrients in my meals that I’m searching for? I don’t know yet.

My exercise is okay. Still getting in my gym dates, but only did one day of videos at home. I had a nice long walk on Monday, but it just doesn’t take as much energy as it used to.   I’m also not drinking enough water. I KNOW this. I can feel it. I’m thirsty and my urine is yellow and not clear anymore (sorry for the TMI!). This has to do with the weather – it’s cold out, it’s cold in my apartment and the last thing I want to do is drink water. I’m averaging about 6 glasses (250ml) a day – usually I get in at least 8 or 10-12 on heavy exercise days.

I need to refocus! My eating, water intake, and be more consistent with my exercise.

This weekend I’m going out of town out west (Alberta!) for a conference.  I’ll be gone for 4 days. The good news: there’s a gym in the hotel. The bad news: Eating out for every meal. I’m hoping that this change in my schedule is the kick in the ass I need to shake things up and get back on track.

I’m also noticing a trend  – for the last few times I’ve reached a significant amount of weight loss (specifically 40 and 50 pounds) my next weigh-in is either a very small loss or a small gain. Perhaps it’s also a way of my body adjusting? I hope so.

I’m not sure how much I’ll be able to post this week with this conference coming up, I’ll try to get some short ones in, but if not I promise to return next Tuesday.

6 thoughts on “Weigh-in Week 42

  1. I’ve been terrible with water lately, too. For me, the week or 2 following achieving a big benchmark is more about the mental aspect of weight loss – I almost feel like I’ve achieved so much that I can slack off a little. You’ll get back to it, though.

    • I know what you mean – it may very well be psychological too. I do tend to slack a little bit.

      Yes, the water is horrible. I’ll be in Calgary this weekend (my first time) and I’ve heard it’s quite dry there even in the winters – hopefully that will help me bump up my water.

  2. I’m working with a client right now who is at the same mental state as you! Feeling like she fell off the wagon, feeling frustrated.

    I basically told her that she can’t fall off the wagon bc there was never a wagon to fall off of. This is life! Life happens. You can only move on when you stop dwelling on your “mishaps.” Those set backs are issues you will deal with your whole life, even after you lose all the weight you intend (reason why you gained back weight the first time you lost??).
    Just remember, if you eat a little too much, slack on the work outs, etc, you are still on your path to getting healthy! Everyone has set backs, it’s the people who keep looking forward and don’t dwell on what happened and what WAS, who keep being successful and over coming new obstacles!
    Be confident! Be proud of how far you’ve come! You’re doing amazing! YOu look amazing!! BE POSITIVE! YOu can do this!! 🙂

    • Thank you very much for the support!

      Yes I do know it is for life. I should have clarified what I meant by falling off the wagon. The wagon for me is healthy living. I think I’ve come a long way, but I can honestly say it isn’t second nature for me (yet?). Each meal, each snack, each time I exercise, still has to be a conscious decision and effort on my part. It’s definintely getting better as time goes on.

      And I know I need to learn to deal with obstacles and setbacks without letting it get me off track. I know I feel better when I do all the healthy things, but sometimes it’s easier to fall down and go back to what you know – to what I’ve spent 30 years doing.

      Thank you again for the support!! I may have stumbled but I will most certainly keep moving forward! 🙂

  3. I just joined Weight Watchers today! Just thought I’d let you know that you inspired me to join! Well, you and Jennifer Hudson.

    And hey, congrats on the .2lb loss! A loss is a loss, right?

    • Yay! Welcome! 🙂

      I hope you enjoy the program!! I know some people don’t like or have trouble with it. For me it’s about the accountability and I’m really trying to use the program to learn about portion control and healthier approaches to food and eating.

      Yes, a loss is definitely a loss 😀

Leave a Reply

