Food Log: Day 3 (and a running update)

Thursday, February 24, 2011

Morning
1  cup(s) fat-free skim milk
2
Oatmeal Breakfast
4
Subtotal 6
Midday
1  large banana(s)
0
Panini – Quick-added food*
14
Subtotal 14
Evening
1  small apple(s)
0
1/2 cup(s) tomato(es)
0
1/2 cup(s) English cucumber
0
1  oz reduced-fat feta cheese
2
1  serving(s) Salmon
3
6  oz uncooked potato(es)
3
1  tsp olive oil
1
1  Tbsp regular butter
3
1  large banana(s)
0
Subtotal 12
Anytime
No entries for this meal time.  
Subtotal 0
Food PointsPlus values total used 32
Food PointsPlus values remaining 0
Exercise
40 min weight training, universal machine, vigorous effort
4
35 min walking, treadmill ( > 3.0 mph and < 5.0 mph )C25K Week 5, Exercise 2 DONE!
3
Activity PointsPlus values earned 7

Water: 12 cups

*Totally guessing on the panini value. It included: chiabatta-type bun, chicken with cajun spices, guacamole, and mangos. Grilled.

Wow, wow, wow. Last night at the gym I did the Couch to 5K week 5, exercise 2 session. It is: jog for 8 mins (or 1.2km), walk for 5 mins (or 800m), jog for 8 mins (or 1.2km) and I did it! I am absolutely thrilled with myself! 🙂

I’ve pointed out before that my goal is endurance not speed, so I’m not actually jogging as fast as the program suggests. However,  last night (and from now on) I’ve decided I’m going to aim to hit the distance rather than the time. That’s right I ran 1.2 km straight! TWICE! It took me about 10 minutes to do it and my walking is slower than jogging so that also took me about 7 minutes to complete.

What an amazing feeling of accomplishment. Ha! I would never have thought I could run for that long – and my lungs are not hurting after. Nope. What I have to overcome is my body wanting me to stop. Not painful, just a desire to not move that much anymore. I have to push through it because I can surprise myself. I had told myself I would run for 8 mins and if I felt I could keep it up, then I’d keep going until the 1.2 mark. It felt great – also it didn’t seem as long as I thought it would. I zoned out for a while during both stints where my body kept running but I wasn’t focusing on my feet or legs. Interesting. It made the run much easier.

I am a bit worried about the next session though. It’s to run for 20 minutes (or 3.2km). Ack! I’m not supposed to run again until Tuesday, but I’ve noticed its easier to hit these goals when I’m running about every second day. I might go in on Saturday to give it a try (I will not move on until I can do this) however that means paying a cool $20 to access the gym on a Saturday. Ew. I haven’t decided yet. Or I can go Monday instead. We’ll see.

 

Leave a Reply

