Weigh-in Week 60: So close and yet…

Well, surprise, surprise (no really,  it IS a surprise!) I’m down 1.9lbs this week for a new weight of 172lbs with a total loss of 79.6lbs! So close, just 0.4 shy of 80….soon! Soon! I can’t believe I’m this close to the 160s. Wow. I can honestly say I have never seen that number in my adult life.

Crazy things go through my head I tell you. I was psyching myself up for a gain – not like last week where I actually thought I had gained, but rather in a “don’t be disappointed if you gained this week kinda way”. And why? Because I only got to run/go to the gym twice. So immediately I assumed that it would result in a gain. I’ll be honest – I’m happy it didn’t, but I also know I need to up my activity once again.

HOWEVER…

I’m going away for 3 weeks as of this weekend for work and will not really have time to workout as we’re working 10am-10pm, 6 days a week. AND I’m going to the States. Now I know some of you all are American. I don’t know if you’ve ever travelled to Canada or hung out here for a longer period of time but I will say that there are differences between American and Canadian food. Not the kind where you’re not sure of what you’re eating or unfamiliar food combinations but rather the big differences are in PORTIONS and JUNK FOODS. Let’s all remember this is going to be opinion and based entirely on my own experiences.

Whenever I eat out in the States I’m amazed at how much food I’m given. I mean sure, it’s great bang for my buck, but it’s too much. I don’t need to eat 3 cups of rice in one sitting (seriously, this happened).  I’ve also noticed in grocery stores the amount of candy, chocolate, chips etc. is staggering (and tempting!). I can honestly say we do not have that much selection, there’s SO much of it. Now, it’s not like Canada doesn’t have its own obesity problems, it most certianly does! But then again, eating out in general is tough, it’s just I always find it so much tougher when you’re in a new city and aren’t familiar with the food or the brands in the grocery stores.

I’m going to be staying in a dorm so I’m not yet sure how much access I’ll have to a fridge or stove to do my own cooking, but with my schedule even if I have access to a kitchen, I’m not sure I’ll have the time! I’m worried it will be a lot of cafe/restaurant eating. I’m hoping there will be a microwave at least. I’m bringing oatmeal with me. I figure if I can start my day off on track then I can make this work. I don’t want to fall into a habit of buying muffins or other baked goods each morning.

I am taking other steps to help me too – I’ve actually found a WW centre in Manhattan near where I’ll be staying/working. I hope I will have the time to run out to get weighed in.

We’ll see how the next 3 weeks go. My actual goal is not weight loss during this time, but rather maintaining my weight. I don’t want to gain – I want to be able to handle changes to my schedule/comfort zone without a weight gain.  Challenge accepted.

8 thoughts on “Weigh-in Week 60: So close and yet…

  1. I know EXACTLY what you mean… I jsut cam off off traveling to Orlando, Las Vegas and Palm Springs! I did go up BUT not as much as I thought. Bring lots of fruit like apples, bananas, seaweed snacks from Trader Joes, and pre packed nuts! drinks lots of water, that will keep you fuller longer. Good Luck! MUAH!

    • I just found out about Trader Joe’s! So good. I got a bunch of hummus and veggies. I have to figure out some more ideas, but I think there might be a farmer’s market nearby work this weekend – here’s hoping! 🙂

  2. hi! haven’t read your blog in ages…and kind of feel off my WW wagon so to speak. But am back. Happy to catch up with your journey. Portions are out of control and access to junk food is ridiculous. I was just thinking this after recent trips to a fabric/craft store as well as Staples (office supplies). They both had extensive candy displays at the checkout. You know, just there to toy with a person’s cravings or weaknesses while running errands. It actually made me ANGRY. I was there with my 3 year old and he kept asking about all the candies. Hello, he could recognize them. Thankfully he loves to check out the produce section and all the fruit, but it still angered me. Again, have a great trip.
    (reposting as it had my wrong log-in info ….can you delete the above, identical post please)

    • Welcome back! Funny enough you’ve joined me at a time when I’m away for 3 weeks and having some major challenges to contend with.

      Yes, I agree – so many stores have those displays – it’s easy money for them, but at what price!

      I’ll be writing less in the next couple weeks, but will be back in the swing of things in mid-July. Hope all is going well with your journey!!

  3. I am an American and I take no offense to what you wrote. It’s so true. Especially when it comes to fast food and chain restaurants- too much fat, too big of portion sizes, and yet tasty and hard to resist. I try to stay away from places that give me 3 portions per entree- it’s too risky. I like to go to restaurants that are a little nicer = smaller portions with better/fresher ingredients or restaurants that are SOL (sustainable, organic, local) or veg/vegan friendly because they usually have better options for me. Good luck and keep an eye out for a frozen yogurt shop- great low point treat and you can top with fresh fruit- satisfying and yummy!

    • Thanks for the tips! I think I did okay…only gained 1.6lbs for the 3 weeks. I wasn’t able to weigh myself at all during this time and only got in 2 workouts. I’m planning on getting right back on track now that I’m home!

Leave a Reply

