Weigh-in Week 64: I’m Back!

Phew! Well what a ride that was.  An incredibly busy (as you may have noticed since I haven’t posted in over 2 weeks!) and amazing experience I’ve had these last 3 weeks. Let me tell you – nothing tests you like working 12 hour days in a new city for 19 out of 21 days!!

I was finally able to weigh-in this week and I’m sure you’re curious about the results…(drum roll please!!)…well I gained 1.6lbs. Let me tell you something – I am THRILLED. Seriously, it could have been a lot worse. A LOT WORSE. I am now at 173.6lbs with a total of 78lbs lost. I’m still below the 30 mark with my BMI and so all is good. I get back on track this week with consistent tracking and exercising – neither of which I was doing while away.

I tried to track, but with eating out so often it was difficult, but I tired to make the best choices I could. I also didn’t have a lot of time to workout. In fact over 3 weeks I got in only 2 runs – and difficult runs at that since it’s been pretty humid out.

While I was away a friend of mine emailed me to tell me she was signing up to do a half-marathon on September 25th as part of the Montreal Marathon. Ack! Now I’ve been talking about doing a 10K at this event and now it would seem I ACTUALLY have to do it! That’s right ladies and gents…I am going to sign up for the 10K. I don’t care if it takes me an hour and a half to do it, I’m there!  I figure I have about 2 months to train and if i train properly I should be all good. A friend of mine who is a marathon runner said he’d find me a good training program so I’m looking forward to it 🙂

And so I’ve decided on my 4th mini-goal. To be at 160lbs by the time of the race: September 25, 2011. That gives me 9 weigh-ins to lose 13.6lbs. I hope I can do it. It’s an average of 1.5 per week. I figure it’ll be good motivation to make it through the summer without gaining due to bbqs and girly summer drinks. And I do like my girl summer drinks! I’m not a big drinker in general and so I’m a bit of a sucker for yummy drinks where you can’t even taste the alcohol. However, that most definitely doesn’t lead to low point options. Just take a look at this lovely I drank while away. I can honestly tell you I have no idea how many points it was. Maybe 10?

My plan is to now use my summer wisely and continue to lose rather than letting it become an excuse to gain! Onwards I go!

8 thoughts on “Weigh-in Week 64: I’m Back!

  1. Welcome back….I would say that tiny gain is a huge victory considering your challenges. Hooraaayyy for you!!!
    I, too, have a hard time in summer. You’d think the nice weather would = more outside fitness time, but it usually means more yummy foods and drinks. 🙂
    I don’t know if you like Mojitos, but they are only 4 pts. I made some mean ones for a 4th of July bbq we attended.

    Nice to have you back. I’m just back from nearly two weeks at Disneyland and the beach….so I’m hitting the ground running this week, too.

    • I’m a gin & tonic girl myself and they’re not too bad – 5pts a piece. I just wish I could find diet tonic here, but alas!

      Hitting the ground running is a good plan…I’ve stumbled a bit, but I’m going to gym tonight. If it’s too hot to run outside, I’ll run inside the air-conditioned gym!

Leave a Reply

