I signed up for the 10K!

That’s right ladies and gentlemen, I decided to bite the bullet and I signed up to run the 10K race I’d be talking about. It’s part of the Montreal Marathon (which includes the marathon, a half-marathon, a 10K, a 5K, and children’s 1K lil’ marathon!) I’ve been hemming and hawing over this race for some time now. Something came over me this weekend – I realized that I really like having something to strive for, especially with my running. I’m not convinced I ever need to run distances longer than 10K (but we’ll see!) but this is definitely something I’d like to try.

After some time I finally found a training program that will work for me. I really wanted to find something that would take me from 5K to 10K not starting from non-running to 10K. I came across this one ( I think through some forum somewhere) from Bupa Running and I’m starting at week 3 since I can already run for 30mins continuously and do so about 3x per week.

I was talking to a friend of mine who runs marathons and he was saying I don’t need to be running 10K every week (as I’d erroneously thought!) I just need to be able to run the 10K about a month before hand and then continue my training so I am running two shorter runs during the week and a longer run on the weekend. I think I can do this. My goal is to run the 10K in less than 1h15.

I’ve also got me a new workout/running outfit! I’m now wearing the shirt I got from the 5K race back in April!! It didn’t quite fit at the time, but it fits now.

You can see the funny crease in my upper arm that stops me from wearing tank tops and short-short sleeve shirts, but I’ve decided to go with it for now. Now, it doesn’t mean I’ll be wearing tank tops from here on in. It’s just for working out. But I will say this shirt is a LOT more comfortable to run it. It wicks moisture away so my shirt isn’t plastered to me from all the sweating like my regular cotton t-shirt was.

Here is the course. I start at 8:45am 10K from the finish line:

Now that I’m back in town I’ve also re-joined the challenges on the weight watchers forum. August’s challenge is called Awesome in August and my goals are to lose 7lbs and do 1200 minutes of activity. Sadly I am up 1.5lbs so far – but there’s still 4 weigh-ins in the month :). The great news so far is that I have already done 220 minutes of activity! I’ve updated the Challenges  page so you can see it there.

How’s everyone else’s activity coming along for August so far? What do you do to stay active in the summer??

9 thoughts on “I signed up for the 10K!

  1. Good for you!!!! I think want to try running again after the first of the year once more weight comes off. I tried when I was heavier and it was just so hard on my knees and feet.

    Best of luck with your August weight and exercise goals. You can do it!

    • I get exactly what you mean! I waited until I was 200lbs to start running for the exact same reasons and I’m happy I waited.

      I had messed up my knee a couple years ago so I was worried about aggravating it or making it worse, but since I’ve lost the weight 1. my knee doesn’t bother me anymore AT ALL and 2. the running has been a bit hard on my knees, but I found out that was because I didn’t have the proper insoles (I have low arches, not fallen, but low) and I wasn’t stretching enough after my runs.

    • Thanks 🙂 Yes, you will get there! The joints hurting – if it’s your knees it might be that your arches are not properly lined up. When I got the right insoles it made all the difference. And LOTS of stretching.

      As for stamina, I had none when I started in January. I followed the Couch to 5K program: http://www.c25k.com/c25k_metric.html to build up my stamina. It’s a really well made plan, I higly recommend it.

  2. Signing up for a race always helps keep me motivated, too. I’m running a half marathon in less than a month (gulp!), so I’ve been running, but also lifting weights. My half marathon will be in Disneyland, so I’ve been trying to train when it’s warm out, because I have a feeling California will be warmer than it is here in Saskatchewan, even if the race does start at 6am. Good luck with your training!

    • Woohoo! Congrats on the half – I can’t wait to find out how you do 🙂 Yes, I think California is warmer. I find humitidy affects me more than heat though – and I always try to run in the shade if I can. HOpefully at 6am it’ll stil be pretty brisk. Good luck! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weigh-in Week 73: Cautiously Optimistic « Pound per Pound

  4. Pingback: How I Exercise & How I Got Started « Pound per Pound

Leave a Reply

