Weigh-in Week 67: Slow and steady wins the race?

Yes, yes, I KNOW it’s not a race! :p Well, I was down 0.5lbs today at weigh-in for a new weight of 172.3lbs and a total loss of 79.3lbs.

I haven’t even taken off my gain from last week. Oh my! I’m starting to suspect that what’s behind this is my growing complacency. Yup. I’m not writing *everything* down. The oil or butter I use in my cooking, the extra bite of this or taste of that. It all adds up in the end and as we all know by this point – I’ve been stuggling with the whole “snacking” thing. I put it in quotations because really they’re just mini-binges I’m calling snacks. I start and I can’t stop. I need better strategies to get myself out of the situation to begin with.

On the bright side, I did get my activity in this week. But clearly it was not enough.  I know I overate (even if my points tracker didn’t necessarily show it) and it resulted in a smaller loss.

My activity this past week consisted of: walking 7K, running 3 times as part of my 10K training (at least 30mins each time – anywhere between 4.5-5K each time), and weight training twice for a total of 38 activity points.

This week I’m committing to re-setting my mindset and tracking EVERY thing that passes my lips or is used in cooking.  I also need to keep my water intake consistent. I’ve noticed that I’m letting it lapse at times. We’ll see if this has any effect. I’ll have to keep it up for 2 weeks before I know as I’m going back out of town for work next week and won’t be able to weigh-in. Not going to let this be a reason to slide though. I have a much more manageable schedule so I should be able to keep up my training and eat well.

I also wonder if it has anything to do with my impending approach to the 160s. I’ve NEVER been in the 160s in my adult life and I wonder if it has me a bit freaked out (unconsciously I think…) I think I’ll have to give this a bit more thought before expanding on it…

Hope every has had a great week 🙂  Have you had any successes this week? Let me know!

19 thoughts on “Weigh-in Week 67: Slow and steady wins the race?

  1. No more snackies you hear me. Did you find posting your food log helped keep you accountable?
    I’ve been using My Fitness Pal to track all food intake and exercise. After being on WW off/on for over 20 years I think I grew bored with points. It is working for me, so that is what I am celebrating!!!

    • Hey! I did find it helped. I’m out of town this week, but when I get back if I see my weigh-in not going in the direction I need it go then I think I will post them again. Good idea 🙂

  2. Good luck on your travels next week but having a plan (and the free time to keep to it) should definitely help. I agree with previous comment about the subconscious barrier to get into a weight you have never reached as an adult. People think about weight loss as all physical but it is very much mental too. It’s a big change going from a fat person to a skinny person, especially if you were fat for a very long time. You will get through this battle like you have before and I know you will be successful!

    • It’s SUCH a huge change! Especially this summer I’ve been meeting people who have never met the big me, only this one. It’s a bit disconcerting. Thank you for your encouragement 🙂

  3. I’m super excited for you – well, I always have been, ever since I stumbled on your blog, but now you’re at the place I was when I started, 8 months ago. I look at your current pics (though your overall loss in incredibly motivating and awesome) and I see myself in you and can’t wait to see you slim down to goal. It’ll be like watching my body, only more so, because I never could see the change. Sure, I see it now, looking way back at my before pics, but I was blind to the process. It’s a weird connection. So there you have it. I’m upping my stalking of you. 🙂 And hey – if I can do it, with 2 little boys running around my feet every day, so can you!!!

    • Oh my goodness thank you so much!!! 🙂 How incredibly kind of you to say. I CAN do it! I will get past these bumps. Hey without the setbacks, how do you appreciate the successes?!?

  4. I’m with you on the snacking and complacency these days. I’m especially having trouble on the weekends – there are just so many special occasions, it seems!

    Way to stick with the running. Sounds like you’re making great progress.

    • It’s true! The weekends have been killer for me lately. I let myself get away without proper meals and it’s showing at the scale.

      The running is going surprisingly well! I’ll be posting an update on it today 🙂

  5. Such a good point. Even though the little splurges aren’t much they do add up at the end of the week. You’ve come a long way and have had made awesome progess. Half a pound after losing nearly 80 shouldn’t get you down. Great work~!

    • It’s the planning where I’m getting caught up – I plan and then it (i.e. I let it) falls apart. Maybe I need to shake up my food choices? Perhaps I’m getting tired of the food so that’s why I give in to snacks??

Leave a Reply

