Weigh-in Week 73: Cautiously Optimistic

So I was down 3.3lbs at weigh-in today for a total loss of 82.9lbs and a new weight of (drum roll please!) 168.7lbs!!

What!? I was NOT expecting this. I thought that perhaps I was down this morning, but not a chance I thought it was 3.3lbs. I’ve been feeling bloated the last couple days so I figured that would affect my weigh-in. I also had (sorta, kinda, shhh…don’t say anything) lost a bit of hope and just expected a small gain once again.

Shhh! Don’t tell anyone, but yes, indeed, I had lost a bit of hope. I have been feeling a bit dejected about everything and was starting to accept the fact that maybe this was going to be a good as it got. I enjoy reading weight-loss and obesity information – health blogs or websites such as: Dr. Sharma’s Obesity Notes or the Mayo Clinic and something that comes up a lot is that perhaps when one reaches a plateau that’s just as good as it gets and the body isn’t willing to go under. Since the 170s was where I got stuck last time, I knew it was also a mental/emotional issue I had to face as well as (possibly) biological.

Today’s weigh-in gives me a bit of hope that perhaps I can keep going and get to a healthy weight (i.e. under 146lbs). For all intents and purposes I am officially overweight with a BMI of 29. I know I’m overweight too – I’m not one of those people who’s all muscle and BMI is inaccurate. I can definitely be healthier and trim my body fat.

So, the questions remains – WHAT did I do differently this week? Well to be honest, not a heck of a lot. I ate really well all week and felt very in control.Β  I ate all my points each day – no day of going under even by one. I only ate 7 of my weekly points, but I’m pretty sure I underestimated because on Sunday afternoon I had fries and also ate a handful of dark chocolate covered coconut that I didn’t track.Β  The fries I tracked, but I’m not exactly sure how much I ate and the coconut never made it to the tracker since I had no idea how. I also only got in 33 activity points – running three times and one session at the gym with the weights.

IΒ had family visiting over the weekend so there was less time for working out and more eating out, but I managed to stay on track πŸ™‚

Side note – I LOVE the dark chocolate covered coconut! It’s peanut-sized white coconut flesh pieces covered in chocolate I get a local organic bulk store. I don’t get them very often – maybe once a month or so – and always make sure to get a little because I know I can’t save it for another day. They usually get eaten by the end of the night.

So where does this leave me? Cautiously optimistic. I will stay on track this week and hope to see another loss. I’m definitely feeling more in control of my eating and that gives me hope.

I will say that I’m thrilled to be in the 160s in time for my race this Sunday (eek! 10Km race!!) and I’m feeling ready for it. I ran 8K this weekend and 7K today. I have one more run – a 5K on Thursday and then the race. I’ll post afterwards to let you all know how it went πŸ˜€

10 thoughts on “Weigh-in Week 73: Cautiously Optimistic

  1. YES!!!! I’m so jazzed to see your update and so glad it was such a niiiice loss. You are amazing!!!

    I’m not a big fan of coconut, but that does sound like a pretty great treat.

  2. I’ve been using coconut oil to try to keep my hands moisturized (I’ve got some really dry skin going on, and apparently coconut oil is really good for that). My hands are, in fact, healing, but I’m also totally craving coconut covered in dark chocolate! And, I tend to smell like I’ve been at the beach all day.

    Have a blast at the 10K. Keep it up!

  3. That is so wonderful! I hope this gives you the hope, optimism, and re-charge you’ve been looking for. The body can be so surprising; both in good and bad ways. Glad this was a good surprise.

Leave a Reply

