Weigh-in Week 74: I knew it was too good to be true

Alas. I was up this weigh-in. Up 1.0lbs for a new weight of 169.7lbs with a total loss of 81.9lbs.

I’m a bit surprised I must say. I didn’t think I went over my points. I ate a bit differently this week – more carbs in preparation for my race so perhaps that was it. I was bummed, needless to say, and so I bought myself two things to cheer myself up:

1. A grande, no-foam, skinny vanilla latte (3pts). No, I was not soothing myself with food. Well maybe a little. I usually have 2 cups of coffee a day  – one at home and one at work. Today I didn’t have my work one so I bought one.

2. A smurf. Yes, that’s right, a smurf. He sits over my desk at home and makes me smile. I have a Papa Smurf I’ve owned since I was a little kid and now this one. 🙂

Well it’s a good thing today’s meeting topic was motivation. Seriously. I have to say it’s getting hard to stay motivated since I’ve only lost 1lb this entire month! I don’t know if my measurements have gone down though, maybe? I’ll measure on the weekend and we’ll see.

I don’t really know what to do differently for next week. I will focus on not eating as many carbs and make sure my protein is up. I’m going to get a new gym program soon also so that should help.

I’ve noticed that when I run for long stretches I tend not to lose that week. Now I don’t know if that’s a muscle thing or an eating thing. This week I plan on taking it easy with the running and maybe get back to some of my Walk Away The Pounds videos to keep moving, but change things up a bit.

One reason is that I’ve gotten a bit of a pain in my left thigh. My (clearly accurate 😉 ) internet self-diagnosis seems to suggest that I might have irritated my IT band. EEK. Don’t want that so I’ve taken 2 days off from running/exercise and tonight I’m doing some specially targeted IT band stretches and taking a bath to relax the muscle.

So I continue on. Not giving up and keeping at it. The worst thing I could do right now is give up and let that scale creep back up.

5 thoughts on “Weigh-in Week 74: I knew it was too good to be true

  1. Just shake that weigh-in off and keep focusing on your healthy habits. You’ve come so far!

    And take care of that injury as best you can (says the woman with the nagging IT band injury).

  2. Yeah I agree with Joanne, take care of that injury don’t ignore it (Says she who has an achy hip!!). Ok september challenge update:
    Weight: down 1.6kg/2kg so really happy about that, I lost 1.2kg this week, so not expecting a big loss next week! Minutes exercised: 516.5/960 not a bad effort. I think if I had not been sick earlier in the month I probably would be a lot closer to that goal! and as I’m about 7 hours short, and today is the last day of September, I am not going to make it, even with Sh’Bam tonight! I will let you know how I go with my weigh in on Tuesday! xxxx

Leave a Reply

