Weigh-in Week 107: What!?

Seriously, what do I know. Today at weigh-in I was DOWN 4LBS! What is that? New weight is 160.2lbs with a total loss of 91.4lbs. At least I’m back to over 90lbs lost.

But seriously – apparently my body has no reasonable – it’s either up almost 3lbs or down 4lbs. The last few weeks have been quite the extremes! At least it’s going in the right direction? Right? Well, this makes me even more convinced that last week’s gain was a false gain due to bloating. It makes me feel a bit better about the whole thing, and also is quite the reminder that now at this lower weight I will notice monthly changes – and sometimes quite a lot. This is good to know so that I can mentally prepare for the possible gain each month, and also not let it get me down or discourage me.

The discouragement is the hardest I find. It can make it difficult to continue sometimes. And I think we all know what happens when we start to give up, when we let things slide a bit…

I have to say the weekly WW email newsletter had two surprisingly inspirational articles in it. That’s not to say they aren’t usually inspirational, but rather that this weeks were particularly apt.

The first was a link about Postitive Thinking and Eating. The general gist of the this was that we can fall short of our weight loss goals when go about it with the wrong mindset, or we let it sneak in after time. The biggest concern is the pressure we put on ourselves, or go all in with an all or nothing philosophy – we end up thinking that we’re missing out on something, or procrastination sets in. I find all of this to be 100% true. The mind is a powerful thing – it can, and I would even venutre to say, is, our biggest challenge: getting over our own insecurities and that voice inside that says “I can’t”.

The second article about Changing from the Inside. This is another one that looks at our mindset and what’s on the inside as well as the outside changes we make. How we think and feel about our weight loss and in fact our weight in general has a strong impact on our ability to lose weight and to keep it off. I’m (only slightly) paraphrasing here, but it stikes me as important to repeat.  They also write about the five levels at which we are able to change how we think and act (now this is straight from the article):

  • Environment. Where and when our behaviour takes place.
    “It’s difficult for me to lose weight with my hectic job and schedule. I’m on the road and eating in fast-food restaurants all the time.”
  • Behaviour. What we do. The specific actions we take in our environment.
    “I don’t know what to eat or what exercises I should do to lose weight and become more fit.”
  • Capabilities. How we guide our behaviours. The broader abilities and strategies we use in life.
    “I am not capable of losing my weight and keeping it off.”
  • Beliefs. Why we do what we do. The ideas and values we think are true.
    “I do not deserve to be thin and attractive.”
  • Identity. Who we are. Our basic sense of self, which is tied to our mission in life.
    “I am a fat person.”

If we change how we think, we will be more successful. We need our inside thoughts to match our outside actions. Weight loss and sustained weight loss maintenance cannot occur without both. Makes sense doesn’t it? Lots to work on…no one said this was going to be easy.

I saw a great quote the other day on the WW forums: “Today, love yourself enough to move.” I thought of that when I didn’t want to go out for a run because it was getting humid, and it got me outside. And you know what? It’s true, because “The only workout you’ll regret is the one you didn’t do.”  Have a great week everyone!

 

4 thoughts on “Weigh-in Week 107: What!?

  1. You know, I’m crazy envious over your progress. And quite ticked at myself that the numbers on the scale have gone up. We’re now sitting at the same spot, you and I. But the difference here is that you’ve been working your butt off and I’ve just been sitting on mine, eating. I need to get back at it, else you’ll be at my goal before me! (Which isn’t a bad thing, I’m just mad at myself for gaining back 15 of the 27 lbs I lost. I was so close to goal, too.)

    • Oh, I can relate to the envy monster. I have felt that way about quite a few bloggers and members on the ww forums. It’s easy to see someone succeed and think whatever we’re doing isn’t enough, or why can’t we just do that etc. etc. etc! But at the end of the day we only see but a snippet of someone else’s challenges. Think of this, what if you’d been at goal and then regained? Maintenance is more difficult than losing the weight. Would you have been more disappointed? Take the gains as time to re-evaluate, re-commit, and re-learn. Practice makes perfect! You’ll get there, maybe not as fast as you thought you would, but you’ll get there (hey I’ve only lost 20lbs in the last year). Sometimes it’s slow going, sometimes it’s not. But it’s not a race, because at the finish line, you’re not done, a whole other set of challenges presents itself.

      A great quote I read not too long ago (okay fine, it was on Pinterest, you caught me) is that disappointment comes from comparing our behind the scenes footage with everyone else’s highlight reels. A good thing to keep in mind when we think we’re not keeping up.

    • Oh yes indeed. I gained a little over 10lbs very quickly due to a work situation and I think my body is getting back to an equilibrium and my monthly cycle isn’t helping much. I’m hoping to be a bit more consistent now. Thanks for coming by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

