Weigh-in Week 109: If Maintenance was my Goal…

…I’d be doing awesome right about now! I was up 0.1lbs today for a new weight of 161.4lbs and a total loss of 90.2lbs. 0.1?! What is that. That is about 45 grams. That is less about 3 points of low-fat cheese. That is annoying. Sheesh! Looks like you can’t please me – I complain when I have a big gain, I complain about a little gain. Okay. So the truth of the matter is that I’m angry at myself. At myself for not getting past this bump in the road. I have been flirting with the low 160s since November now. NOVEMBER! That’s half a year ago. I need to get serious. I got down into the 150s and my good intentions were derailed by not being able to handle the food at work – seriously I haven’t eaten Chinese take-out since then and have no desire to.

I don’t want to put a date on it, but I’d love to get to goal by the end of the year. That’s a loss of approx. 1lb per week. I have no idea if this will happen. Perhaps a better goal is to lose over the summer. If I can lose and still enjoy myself then that’ll be an accomplishment in and of itself.  It’s time to re-focus my energy and not let excuses get in the way. It’s the nibbles here and there that aren’t helping me one bit. I know how to eat well. I know what works for me to keep my hunger at bay and keep me full. Now, why can’t I do it lately?

However, on a brighter note I will say that I had a  major NSV today (Non Scale Victory). I ran. Now, you might say to yourself – so what you run every week, what’s the big deal? The big deal dear reader (dear reader – who am I, Dear Abby? No, certainly not. I have no answers) is that today was the day of torrential rainstorms here in Montreal. Not just one or two, but many. We were lulled into a false sense of summer in the afternoon with temperatures of 31 degrees and then BOOM! Here is the aftermath:

Flooding to the left of me.

Flooding to the right.

Here I am, stuck in the middle with you.

Source for all four of these pictures: The Montreal Gazette.

Here’s to a better week ahead. Today so far so good. I hope I can keep it going. No major social events coming up to throw me off track, so it’s me and myself – head to head.

Leave a Reply

