Weigh-In Week 114: Well, it’s better than the alternative…

Today at weigh-in I was down 0.2lbs for a new weight of 164.2lbs and a total loss of 87.4lbs. Well at least it’s a loss right? Right?

Well I’d be lying if I didn’t say I was relieved. It’s not a big loss, it’s kinda like a stay the same but it’s a not a gain and that makes me very, very happy. I’d also be lying if I didn’t say I completely deserved a gain. I was able to make good choices all week, even on the Canada Day picnic from my last post, but I did slip up. Twice. Badly. I had two mini-binges this week. This is part of a bigger problem I’m starting to identify. This is the post I’ve been working on and I hope to have it up by the weekend (yes, yes, I know I’ve said it before!). I won’t say more for now as I formulate my thoughts, it’s nothing horrible, but it has been eye opening these past two weeks.

On the subject of not losing much, and pretty much being back where I started at the beginning of the year, my leader at today’s meeting said something that struck a chord with me. She said: We let ourselves get discouraged. Well if more than half a year of not losing is not reason to get discouraged I don’t know what is! But I refuse. This isn’t something that ends. So what if I’m on a maintaining streak. I will not allow myself to get discouraged. This is but a blip. In the greater scheme of things this will not seem like such a big deal. I just have to keep at it.

I leave this weekend for 3 week contract in New York. I won’t be in my regular environment – but let’s not kid ourselves, it’s not like my regular environment has been so kind to me lately. And so I’m going to take these next 3 weeks as the opportunity that they are. The opportunity to get control of my eating again. I’ll be working 12 hour days again and I’ll have access to a kitchen to make my own meals. My plan is to make both lunch and dinner almost all the days. This way I’ll minimize points guesstimating. My goal is modest – I’d like to lose 2lbs over the 3 weeks. That’s not a lot, but it get’s me back on track so that’s my goal.

And just in case I feel myself slipping back into being discouraged. I should remember these:

Oh Pinterest…how you amuse me so with your pithy motivations. But you know what, these ones worked on me so what do I know!

How do you keep yourself from getting discouraged when the scale isn’t moving the way you’d like it to? Advice, suggestions, & pinterest links welcome!

Leave a Reply

