Recipe: Individual Peach Pies

Okay, so I’m loving these! I tried them out on my friends and they seem to have gone over well. There’s a few things I would change for  next time, but it’ll up the points+ value for them. The way I made them originally they are 5 points+.

First things first. I did NOT make this recipe up. I totally found it on Pinterest and here is the original source: Yummy Mummy Kitchen.

I made some changes in that I used the Joy of Baking Pate Brisee recipe as the pastry. I made half the recipe – which you can easily halve.  I divided the pastry into eights to minimize the points value, but in retrospect I would probably just quarter the dough, but that will raise the points+ value to 9.

For the Pate Brisee:

  • 1 1/4 cups  all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon granulated white sugar
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, chilled, and cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 1/8 to 1/4 cup ice water

If you have a food processor you can do this in it, but I don’t so I do everything by hand! Combine flour, salt, and sugar. I do it in a bowl with a whisk. Add chilled butter and cut in until it looks like coarse meal. I use my fingers to do this, you can do this with the processor or a pastry cutter. Add water. Start with 1/8 of a cup and add more if needed. Gather the dough into a ball and flatten to be a disk. Wrap it up in plastic wrap and chill in the fridge for 30mins-hour before using. When ready, roll it out on a lightly floured surface.

I divided the dough into eights and rolled out one circle-ish shape from each section. I froze the unused dough for future use.

For the Pies:

  • Pie crust dough (store-bought or homemade, you can also use your favourite recipe)
  • 4 small to medium ripe peaches (double check they fit in your muffin tin)
  • 4 teaspoons of honey (I used creamed honey, but you can use honeycomb or regular honey)
  • Sugar for sprinkling (I used some violet sugar I got from Fuchsia here in Montreal, but any sugar will do)
  • 1 egg & 2 tbsp water for egg wash

Preheat oven to 425F and coat 4 wells of of your muffin tin with a spray. Cut the peaches in half and remove the stone.

Place one teaspoon honey in the centre (where the stone was) and put the peach back together. Roll out the dough and wrap the peach in the dough. Place each one in a muffin well. If the dough reaches the top of the peach and encloses it, add air vents with a sharp knife. (You’ll see in the picture – I made 5…one was a tester!)

Whisk the egg and water together and brush each pie (I’ll be honest – I forgot to do this!) and sprinkle with some sugar before baking. Bake for 13-15 mins until crust is golden brown. Let sit 5 mins before removing. Carefully!

Serve with some delicious vanilla ice cream. ENJOY!

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Individual Peach Pies

Leave a Reply

