Weigh-in Week 121: Oooph!

Ouch. Well that hurts. Today at WI I was up 2.9lbs for a new weight of 163.7lbs and a total loss of 87.9lbs.

Source

Well that’s not good. So what have I learned this week?

  1. My head still isn’t back in the game
  2. I am almost back to where I was before New York
  3. I have only lost 0.7lbs this YEAR!
  4. This is getting ridiculous

I’ll be honest. I’m amazing I’ve still lasted.  This is testing both my patience and my resolve. But I can do it. I can get back on track. I just hope that when I get back on track I can STAY on track. That seems to be the difficult thing. I can do this for a few weeks and then just lose sight of everything again.

I think it doesn’t help that I’m feeling pretty good about my body now. I still want to make progress with my running and at the gym, but in general, I feel good in my body. I guess this time I’ve had at this weight has been really good for that – it’s allowed me to get used to this body. I feel comfortable in the world – I’m not squished in seats, I don’t get out of breath doing day-to-day tasks. I wonder if all these things are making me complacent. If I don’t feel that need to lose weight at acutely as I did before.

I think what irks me the most about what’s been going on the last couple weeks is that I haven’t even been ENJOYING the food. I waste (and yes, I do think it’s a waste) my points (or calories, whatever you want to call them) on silly late night snacking that’s bordering on binge eating. I’d much rather have a couple drinks with friends on a night out or indulge in a dessert on the weekend. If I was doing this I’d understand. I’d need to cut back. But what’s happening is less exciting. I’ll feel out of control and indulge in useless food that does nothing but make me feel uncomfortably full the next morning.

So what am I going to do about this? Well I’ve decided to play around with my daily points. In general and in the past I’ve set up my tracker to eat my 26 daily points (the minimum at WW) and about half my weekly points (25). I’ve changed it so that my daily points target is 28 and dropped my weekly points to 15. It’s almost the same (4 more points this way for the whole week) but I wonder if just the psychology will help me get back on track and over this hump. I feel like I’m in a food-rut so time to shake things around.

My other plan is to eat more during the day so I’m less hungry at night. Usually I tend to save my points for the evening as I’m a night owl and this keeps me from worrying about not having enough food at night. I’ll try it out this week and see how it goes. I’ll try to keep up my not eating in front of the computer (failed on that one today, but I also ate while I was on the phone…double fail). So that’s it. Let’s change this around and see how it goes. The alternative is not an option.

4 thoughts on “Weigh-in Week 121: Oooph!

  1. I am with you on the lack of commitment/motivation. I’m going back to having a personal trainer and dietitian because I need that extra feeling of accountability (I’m pretty sure that was bad English right there). With my work life starting to get busy and the kids’ activities starting up again, I need that extra help to stay focused and not let things slide. Since my original trainer moved away and dietitian stopped seeing clients, I’ve gained back 20 lbs, which I never, EVER thought would happen. You’ll figure it out, though. Just think of how far you’ve come!

  2. I feel your pain. Think of this: at least you have lost this year, instead of gaining.

    If I were you, I would make a big sign and put it at your computer saying “NO FOOD” or something. I would also encourage you to definitely eat more during the day. I normally am a late night snacker, but eating at least every three hours throughout the day (along with 20 oz of water each time I eat) and then limiting myself to just water after my dinner has helped tremendously. I don’t feel hungry in the evenings any more. I know I’ve had all of my food, and my body accepts it.

    • Haha, I like that – 0.7lbs, at least I’ve lost! But you’re completely right. I’ve been getting better at managing my hunger this week so we’ll see how it ends up on the scale. The weird thing is how much my body fluctuates from week to week. Sometimes it’s easy and sometimes it’s like a bottomless pit. I’ve been trying very much to not eat after dinner unless it’s a fruit or a cup of tea. So far it seems to be working 🙂

Leave a Reply

