Recipe: Fish Tacos

Okay, so I think I’ve been out of the loop but I only just heard about fish tacos this summer! Where have they been my whole life? I like fish, I like tacos – why didn’t I think of this!

Well I tried my hand at it the other night and it turned out really well so I thought I’d share with you.

Makes 5 tacos

WW Points Plus value per taco: 4

(or 9 for two, depending on what kind of tortilla/shells you’re using)

I used:

  • 400g sole (defrosted)
  • Oil, spray
  • Old El Paso reduced sodium taco seasoning (used half a packet – 17g)
  • Whole wheat tortillas, small
  • Reduced-fat cheese (if using, add 15g to each taco and 1 pp+ extra)
  • Salsa
  • Plain yoghurt
  • Red & Green bell peppers

Firstly, I used a bit of spray oil on a non-stick skillet and cooked the defrosted fish fillets. Once they fillets start to cook, break them apart with the spatula. Here’s a pic where you can see the raw fillet on the right, the cooked fillet on top and the crumbled fillet on the left.

This is the seasoning I used. I only used half of it because it seemed a bit strong for the mild fish. Yes, I am trying to cut out processed foods, but to be honest I don’t eat tacos often enough to have my own taco seasoning recipe. But if anyone does have one and feels like sharing I’m all for it! I do however, try to be sensible about it all and use the reduced sodium one. It’s already salty as is, no need for more.

Once the fish is all cooked, add the seasoning and 1/2 cup of water. It should look like this:

Mix to incorporate all the seasoning and liquid. Let it cook on medium until all the liquid is absorbed and it looks like this:

Yum! And that’s kinda it! Now create your tacos. I used 1/4 cup fish filling per small tortilla.

I used whole wheat tortillas because I prefer them over the hard shells. I added 15g of reduced fat cheddar cheese, a few slices of green and red bell peppers, 1 tbsp of salsa and 1 tbsp of plain yoghurt.

My tortillas are 2pp+ for one or 5 for two, but you might be using a different brand so be sure to calculate your tortillas accurately. For the fish, I got five 1/4 cup servings out of the initial 400g.

And Enjoy! Easy peasy.

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Fish Tacos

  1. That looks delish – must try this sometime! For Mexican-tasting seasoning without using mix, you could try a blend of cumin & chili powser, with a bit of oregano for good measure, and salt to taste. Really nothing that exotic in that mix. 😉

    Or experiment with some of these these ingredients: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/taco-seasoning-i/

    Thanks for the inspiration, gotta try this soon!

    • Great! Thanks so much Kathryn. That allrecipes.com one looks super easy. Thanks so much 🙂

      Yes, it was delish and healthy! You can also pretty much choose whichever fish you prefer. I used sole because it had been on sale and it was what I had in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

