Weigh-In Week 122: Back on Track?

Okay, so I feel like I have to start adding that question mark at the end. This was a good week – I was down 2.6lbs for a new weight of 161.1lbs and a total loss of 90.5lbs. Yay! So why the question mark…well the BIG question is can I keep this trend going in the right direction??

Source

Yes, we’ve seen this before – I get on track for a couple weeks and then I take a tumble and regain. We we have seen this before. In fact we’ve seen it for almost a year now! I am really hoping I can keep my head wrapped around this long enough to get down to 155. In my head it feels like the threshold to pass – to get to the low 150s. Well. The only thing I can do is keep moving forward.

This week I tried to do somethings differently like eating more during the day so I don’t feel as tempted to eat at night. So far so good. I think I’ll try it again this week. I am also practicing some serious self-talking. Really asking myself if I am hungry in the moment or if I am just tired/bored. It seems to be working and I’ve had a pretty good handle on the late night snacking.

I’ve been focused on planning ahead, including snacks at home for post-work munchies. I bought some rice cakes (which I actually like, not just because they are low in calories) with salsa and cheese to make mini-pizzas post work, or to have some with jam. It fills my carb craving and yet isn’t too heavy to weigh me down. So far so good.

Today at the weight watchers meeting we spoke about healthy habits and making small changes at a time. I couldn’t agree more. Small changes is what’s gotten me to where I am. I just need to focus on continuing my small changes, being positive about it  – I’d be lying if I was to say I’ve been positive through this whole up-down-up-down, it certainly has been getting me down which probably doesn’t help with keeping me on track, and making sure that I’m not try to fit in too much all in one shot. Small changes are OK. Small changes DO add up.

This week I’ve been focused on cutting back how sweet I make my morning coffee. I normally use 2 teaspoons of splenda. I’ve cut back to 1 1/2 teaspoons. Not a big change, but a change nonetheless. I can taste the difference, but it’s only a small one. My goal is to continue to cut out how much sweetener I use on a daily basis. One small change at a time 🙂

Have you made any small changes along the way to better health? What have they been? I’m always eager to hear about other people’s successes so don’t be shy! 

4 thoughts on “Weigh-In Week 122: Back on Track?

  1. Great to read your story!!
    I started my journey back to health 2 years ago and it has changed my life completely!
    I started eating mostly plant-based foods – so I eat plant-based 80% of the time and 20% “whatever” -before I would eat “whatever” 80% of the time and 20% healthy. I feel fitter than ever living like this 🙂
    Thank you for sharing!

  2. I have been making small changes as well. A couple of months ago I cut sugar out in my coffee. I am also working on not eating after 8 pm, as it makes no sense for me.

    • Great job! I’m working on the sugar/sweetener in my coffee. Not eating after 8 is a bit hard for me since I don’t go to sleep until 12 or 1am most days so I’m trying the no eating after 11pm right now.

Leave a Reply

