Weigh-In Week 132: Consistency

Well today I was down 0.2lbs at weigh-in. New weight is 161.0lbs and a total loss of 90.6lbs. Still in that 160-164 zone. I’m feeling pretty good about things these days though.

My schedule is back to “normal” which mean I can get back on track with my running & weight training.  That’s all well and good, but we know the real culprit – my eating. So where do I stand on that right now? Pretty good I have to say. “Normal” schedule means eating at home again! That means more control of my meals. So far I’m off to a good start. I had a good weekend getting back on track and spent Sunday night making that rice and bean casserole in my last post. I’ve pre-portioned it already for the week. I also cut up broccoli and cauliflower for snacking at work.

I have to say I’ve had TWO good days at work so far – Monday and today. I’m hoping to make a full week! I’ve come to the realization that when I don’t have a lot of work to do, I tend to get bored very quickly and thus eat. Geez! It’s like I can’t win – too busy and I eat badly, bored and I eat badly!

Here’s my concern however – one big loss, one small loss…and usually I see a gain the next week. So I need to pay extra attention and make sure I’m tracking everything accurately.

At today’s meeting we talked about consistency in our weight loss. My leader used this example: 2 weeks of losses followed by 3 weeks of gains followed by 2 week of losses, still only leaves you breaking even – then you have to have 2 more weeks of losses just to come out ahead. Wow! She may as well have been talking about me. I have NOT been consistent at all. The ups and downs have become normal to me. That’s not a good thing! I keep saying I’d be happy with lots of small losses instead of one or two big ones every few weeks. So here’s my question – what am I doing about it? How am I making that a reality? Short answer – I’m not.

I’m tried of the up and down. I’m tried of losing control of my eating. I’m tired of mindless eating. I’m tired of using the “gain” tag in my posts!

This weekend I’m going to take my measurements and post them. I’ve realized that I haven’t taken them in exactly one year. Maybe that’s part of the problem – when I started to get off track and get lazy? I stopped taking and posting my measurements, stopped taking and posting my monthly activity summaries. All this I stopped and I wonder why I haven’t lost anything? Well it’s still early in the month and so I commit to doing both of these once again. I commit to being consistent so that my weight loss can be consistent also. Consistency.

And here’s a Tuesday smile for you I found on Pinterest:

4 thoughts on “Weigh-In Week 132: Consistency

Leave a Reply

