Weigh-in Week 133: Commitment

Today at weigh-in I was down 0.6lbs for a new weight of 160.4lbs and a total loss of 91.2lbs

Okay, so not bad. Still in that problem zone, but that’s three losses in a row. Feeling good about that right now. This next week is the real tester:

  1. Can I do 4 in a row? I haven’t been able to do 4 straight losses since JANUARY 2012.
  2. I’m female. My hormones play with me once a month.
  3. I’m going out of town to my mom’s house for the weekend which means travel, out of my comfort zone, and mom’s food.

I really enjoyed today’s meeting. We had a replacement leader in for the week – which to be honest sometimes doesn’t work out so well – but today’s was very nice and very honest. I enjoy leaders who don’t think WW is the end all and be all and don’t try to push products on you. Today we spoke about commitment and our reasons for wanting to lose weight. On the topic of commitment, something she said really stuck with me – That every day we wake up with that commitment to lose weight. And you know what? She’s right. I need to get my commitment back – get back to a point where I wake up each morning looking forward to losing weight and how I’m going to make that happen.

I could have given up a long time ago. Heck, I could have given up when I got stuck at this weight. That would have been easy. Super easy to go back to  what I know, to fall back into old habits and give up new ones. It’s just too easy. Ostensibly, I have not lost weight this year, not really. I have also spent money on this. I pay for WW membership each month ($60 CDN a month here for me). I could easily convince myself that that money could be better spent, that for no results it’s not worth it. But you know what? I made that commitment to myself and I’m sticking with it. I know what the alternative is – and it is not maintaining my weight. It is weight gain – unadulterated WEIGHT GAIN. That’s right. I know myself and I am being 100% honest when I say that if I was not on WW at this moment in time I would be stuffing my face to the point of being sick and gaining back all the weight I worked hard to lose. I would not have gone for a 5k run this evening. I would not have eaten a healthy dinner and then stopped. I would have stopped caring about my nutrition, my diet, and my well-being.

 The other thing we spoke about was the reasons we each have for losing weight. I’ll be honest. I never before have written them down. So today I did. I came up with a list. I will share them with you each day this week. One a day. I urge you, if you are reading this because you are also on your weight loss journey, if you are contemplating starting your weight loss, or if you are maintaining a weight loss to also write them down. Somewhere. Anywhere. Or write yours with mine. I’ll start them tomorrow – 7 of them.

In the meantime, thanks again to Pinterest I can say this – I do not have an interest in weight loss. I am committed to it.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

