REASON FOR LOSING WEIGHT 7: To be happy with my life

Now, before we jump to the conclusion that I think thinness = happiness, that’s not it. This is the one reason that really is an amalgamation of all the rest. What I mean by being happy with my life is living my life to the fullest – and that means not letting my weight hold me back in any way. That means I get to make the choices I make – whether it’s about who I date, what jobs I go after, what adventures I partake in etc. I mean that I don’t want to be sitting at home making excuses. I want to be living my life.

I’ll be honest – I sometimes feel like I wasted my 20s. It’s a very hard thing to say and to admit to oneself. Sure I had a good time, but you know what? I know myself and I know I held myself back. I did it for various reasons – some were external (what will people think of me), and some were internal (I shouldn’t do that, what if I can’t do that, etc.) I remember when I was up north with a job once and there were zip lines through the forest. We had a 3-4 hour break between shows and, if I’d had the courage, if I thought I had the physical strength, then I would have totally done it. Booked the lesson and zipped through the trees. But I didn’t.

Sure there are people out there who are overweight who claim they are 100% happy and that their weight doesn’t stop them from enjoying life to the fullest. Maybe. Maybe not. All I can say is that I wasn’t one of them.

What if, what if, what if. I don’t want to look back and wonder what if. What’s that saying? Well according to old reliable Google this is the quote I’m thinking of:

I’d rather regret the things I’ve done than regret the things I haven’t done.               – Lucille Ball

And that’s exactly it. I want experiences not excuses. My weight was stopping me. I know that now, no matter how much I tried to convince myself otherwise. Am I happier now? I sure am! Am I happy because I’m thinner? In part – but really I’m happier because now I’m the one who gets to make the choice – to do something, to try something. I don’t wonder will I fit? Will it hold me? Will I have the energy? I just do it – if I fail, I fail, if I succeed, I succeed – but at least I tried.

So this is it. The last one in my series of why I re-embarked on my weight loss journey. It’s been a good thing to go back over them. To realize that in one way or another I’ve reached all my old goals. Perhaps a fresh start is indeed what I need. I need to readjust and re-evaluate and think about what exactly I have to gain my losing the rest.

I’ll be back later tonight with my weight-in post. Til then – thanks for reading.

5 thoughts on “REASON FOR LOSING WEIGHT 7: To be happy with my life

  1. Excellent series and well written. Thank you.

    You are right. Being thin doesn’t mean 100% happiness all the time. But being thinner does remove many of the mental and physical obstacles to living a full life.

  2. Because I’m going through it, I know how hard it is to admit that your weight was holding you back. I’m very happy for you that you did something about it and can now enjoy life more. I can’t wait to get there. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • It’s only recently I’ve been able to go back over and see (or more accurately admit) these things. Don’t worry about getting somewhere – just enjoy the new joys and nsv’s of each day. It doesn’t happen overnight, more of a slow realization that comes over you. I think you’re doing great! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weigh-In Week: 190: Up a little again | Pound per Pound

Leave a Reply

