Weigh-in Week 137: Let’s talk WW 360

Sorry! This is a long one today. I think I was on a roll! Today at weigh-in I was down 0.6lbs for a new weight of 156.9lbs and a total loss of 94.7lbs. Oh, I’ll take it! Not as good of a loss as I know I’m capable of, but a loss nonetheless. I had some challenges this week like birthday celebration for my mom (60th!!) and quite a few nights out.

I promised a WW 360 chat, and here it is. So what’s the big difference? Well not much, mostly it is a focus on creating habits and routines that will aid not only in weight loss, but ultimately weight loss maintenance. I am totally on board with this. I say any tools to help anyone with creating healthy habits for long-term success is a good step in the right direction.

Now, I’m sure the anti-WW people out there will say – why? It’s just common sense, why spend money on to be told this. Well to those of you for whom making healthy choices and eating reasonable portions of good food is just common sense I congratulate you. I am not like you. For me it is not “common sense”, it does not come “naturally” it is something I have to work at each and every day. It is something I have to exercise at each and every meal. It is something I have to think about when someone puts a plate of cookies out, or offers me a chocolate. It is something I have to be constantly and consistently aware of. Life isn’t fair and you know this is my burden.You don’t need to understand it, but please refrain from belittling it.

I did not learn how to eat properly. For whatever reasons – maybe due to too much processed food as a kid, maybe it’s just the way I am built – but I do not know how to listen to my body when it comes to food. I don’t know when I’m full, I don’t know how to stop eating when I’ve had enough and inevitably eat until I am stuffed. To help me lose weight over the last couple years I’ve had to make some major changes to my lifestyle. Looking back these changes look major now, but at the time they came in gradually. I made small changes along the way and they added up. This seems to be the basis of the WW 360 program: how to make small changes to habit and routines so that we can develop new healthier habits and routines.

Simply stated, here is the thesis of WW 360:

Montr+®al-20121211-00153

Montr+®al-20121211-00150

One of the first ways to take this on it to start to make change to your spaces – the spaces you inhabit: your home, your work, your car etc. If you fill them with good, healthy foods then you will be more likely to succeed in making new habits stick.   Some ways I changed my kitchen include:

  • Not bringing snacks I can’t control into the house. Things like chocolate, cookies, even crackers. If I can’t limit myself to one or two servings, I don’t bring it home. Now, every now and then I re-test this theory with a jar of Nutella, but even then I buy the smallest jar (so that even if I fail, I won’t eat 750g of it, I’ll eat 100g of it). I am not at a place where I can buy this and keep it in the home.
  • I freeze baked goods & bread. It makes it harder to eat a lot of it in a short time. Defrosting take a long time!
  • I stock up on veggies & cut them up so I have quick and easy snacks.
  • I make my lunches for the the week on the weekend so I don’t feel the pull of grabbing something possibly unhealthy or calorie-laden.

Montr+®al-20121211-00151

The second main tool that is being touted is the creation of healthy routines that will help habits become second nature:

Montréal-20121211-00156

So let’s see how I do with these:

  • Eat veggies or fruit with every meal and snack – YES. I can honestly say I do this almost all the time. It is a rare time I do not have fruit of veg. If it happens it will be with a snack where I grabbed a homemade oatmeal muffin.
  • Have a healthy snack with me when I leave the house – YES. I always have an apple and a bottle of water with me. Always. Just in case I get caught somewhere without food (or good choices available).
  • Eat breakfast every day – YES. Okay, I admit it, way back when I used to not eat breakfast. Or if I did it was a 600ml bottle of Coke and a chocolate bar (I kid you not. No wonder I got up to 250lbs!) Nowadays I eat oatmeal every day (with frozen fruit). I love my oatmeal. I even look forward to it on the weekends.
  • Know what you’re having for lunch – 5/7 days. I know on weekdays always because I make my lunch in advance. Weekends are a bit trickier…but mostly because I tend to sleep in so breakfast is only at 10-11am. I do try to plan my food for the day in the shower though.
  • After each meal, decide how many Points you’ll use for your next meal or snack – USUALLY. I could be better at the planning, but as an evening eater I try to leave myself enough points for the evening to have a good, full dinner of at least 10 points and I aim to have zero-3 point snacks.
  • Eat all your meals at a table – Does a computer table count? Okay. Yes, here I fail big time. I eat at my desk at work and I eat often at my computer at home also. I am trying to change this but so far have not been so successful.
  • Put your fork down or sip water after each bite – Not so much. Nope, I still find I tend to be a fast eater. It is also something to work on. But I’ve gotten better at putting my fork down at last once during my meal for a short while. So, slowly…
  • Eat all your meals free of distraction – Oomph, no, I tend to always have distractions. I need to work on cutting these out. I like to multi-task so this is a hard one.
  • Before eating anything ask yourself is it worth the points – Often, but not always. I do ask myself that for sweets and desserts. Especially because I really dislike store-bought cakes and most pastries (but I love bakery ones!) so I try to really think of is it worth it or am I just eating it because its there.
  • Get up and walk at least five minutes each hour – Ha! Well given how much water I drink, this is not a problem!! I could probably do it more at home though.
  • Know how you’re going to be active tomorrow – YES. I try to plan my activity/exercise schedule for the week and keep to my schedule of 3x runs and 2x weight training sessions.
  • Always have comfortable shoes with you – YES, usually. At least during the day I do. I walk to work so it’s a must. It’s only at an event at night that I won’t have them. But I do try to walk as much as possible so that just means comfortable shoes!
  • Identify tasks you now do sitting and do them standing or pacing – Hmm…haven’t done this one at all. A friend of mine told me about how he got a standing desk at work. I’ll have to think about this one.
  • Wait several minutes before reaching for seconds – Sometimes. I don’t often have seconds, but when I do I tend to just go for it. I should wait longer. At our meeting my leader got us to repeat the following sentence: “Not now, but maybe later” as a way to politely refuse an offer of food or seconds. I should practice this with myself!
  • Wear an activity monitor all day, every day – No. That’s not for me. I tried to carry my ipod with me as a pedometer, and it was interesting for a while, but eventually it got boring. Also I walk a lot in my day because I don’t own a car and I live in a city. I’m not too concerned about not getting enough movement in my day. I think that’s one thing I have going well for me.
  • Get 7-8 hour of quality sleep each night – Well considering it’s almost 1 am as I write this I think I’m failing tonight. I do try to get good sleep in every night, but I’d be happier with more. The most annoying is when I don’t sleep because I’m just puttering about on the computer. I need to learn how to just turn it off.

Phew! Well here we go. WW 360 in a nutshell and a bit about me and my routines/habits that I’ve been working on on this weight loss journey.

Have you created any healthy habits along the way? Do you think they’re second nature to you yet? Are there any habits you’re working on creating?

6 thoughts on “Weigh-in Week 137: Let’s talk WW 360

  1. Congratulations on the loss! Great work!
    Thanks for the chat about WW 360. I hadn’t taken the time to read the WW info online (I don’t go to meetings) so this was very informative and down to earth. I think it’s a great idea to lay them out to see how you are doing. I think you’ve inspired me to do something similar for myself.
    And I completely understand needing the help to form or re-form good habits.

    • Thanks! Yes, I’ve come to realize, especially when struggling to just write things down and look at them objectively helps a lot…somehow it’s not the same just keeping it in your head! 🙂

  2. I have 2 dogs that MUST be walked daily. I walk with an I-Pod of Christian music playing. It’s gotten to be very routine – but it took several years to become established. Now, when I don’t feel like walking them one day, and don’t do it, I feel like a slug. I’m not just saying that, I really do feel like a boneless slug. Moving has shown itself to be very necessary for me to be able to live in my own skin.

Leave a Reply

