Weigh-in Week 140: Starting 2013 Below 150!

So I’m not sure why, but my body seems to have decided it’s getting rid of the weight. (Finally!) I went in to weigh-in today since the offices were closed yesterday for the holiday and I was down 2.5lbs for a new weight of 149.0lbs and a total loss of 102.6lbs. I am officially starting the new year with a weight that is below 150lbs. I don’t ever remember being below 150lbs. Ever. Not even as a child. I remember when I was about 100 and then I remember 180, but that’s about it. That’s 67.5kg. I officially weigh less than the cardio machines at the gym assume! They all start at 68kg. How crazy is that!

Here’s what I’d be carrying around with me everywhere if I still had that 102lbs on me. Two water cooler jugs, two 10lb bags of potatoes, and two pounds of butter:

Water Cooler Jug, Potatoes, butter - 102lbs

For today’s weigh-in I went to a different meeting and this one was in French. Now I have no problem with that, but it did mean it was a different crowd completely – mostly women in 40s-50s for whom this is clearly a very social setting. They invited me in with open arms and were extremely impressed and proud with my loss and with last week’s 100lb milestone. To be honest there were only about 3 people at the meeting last week so it was a bit disappointing – not because I want the accolades, but because I would like to celebrate. I still haven’t even seen my regular Tuesday meetings leader since it happened. Well these ladies today celebrated with me – yahoo! It felt nice πŸ™‚

I also had one woman, who was standing behind me in line, say to me – “Well you know it’s easier to lose 100lbs than it is to lose 15”. Pfft to that. I was a bit miffed at first at her statement and then, when the actual meeting portion started I spoke my mind. Here is what I said and I do believe to be true:

The only reason it seems easier to lose 100 vs 15 pounds is that for the person who needs to lose 100lbs they know they have to change their entire lifestyle, but the person who has 15lbs to lose, thinks they don’t have to, so they don’t.

I am going to stand by this. I think that even if you have 15-20lbs to lose you still need to make lasting changes to your lifestyle. They may not have to be as large as the ones I’ve had to make, but they still need to be lasting. You cannot lose weight and go back to your old habits without expecting to regain some or all of the weight. Your old habits put the weight on in the first place, they will not help you lose it or keep any you do lose off.

Hope you’re all doing well post-New Year’s celebrations.

4 thoughts on “Weigh-in Week 140: Starting 2013 Below 150!

  1. Congratulations on the weight loss. I agree with you that it’s hard to lose 15 pounds because I would rather not change my lifestyle for the long term. Short term, yes I can, but once I go back to the way it was, the weight comes back. It’s like riding a roller coaster! I hope things are different for me this time!

Leave a Reply

