I didn’t weigh in for Week 152

I won’t lie. I didn’t weigh in last Tuesday. But to be honest it was because I had to take care of some car issues that took much longer than anticipated (don’t they always) and so I couldn’t get to the centre before work. I was going to weigh-in on Thursday morning, but it just didn’t feel right. I’ve been stressed over the car, work is getting super busy, and sleep hasn’t been relaxed lately.

I don’t know how Tuesday’s weigh-in will go to be honest. I’m trying to track all my food accurately, but it’s difficult. I’ve had a few nights of losing control with late-night eating. I’m working on this first. I need to take control again and not let the food control me. I’m happy to announce that last night, after a lovely night out with some girlfriends that took us to a music improv show (where musicians jam together with a jazz/reggae/funk and a party I got home at 3am and resisted grabbing something from the kitchen! I was tired and really I jsut wanted to sleep, but I still went to the fridge. I stood there with the door open. I actually spoke out loud to myself and told myself to leave and just go to bed…and I did it. This may not seem like a big deal to some, but given the last month I’ve had this was a huge accomplishment. I can do it. I can get back on track.

I want to stop eating uncontrollably at night so that I can enjoy the treats and special meals during the day. Seriously. And this week had plenty of both. Firstly, we had cupcakes at work. Look at how adorable they were – I had one that looked like a chick because it was cute and it had coconut!

IMG-20130327-00383

And then my friends and I went to a Cabane a Sucre – a Sugar Shack – which if you don’t know what that is, is a visit to the maple tree farms where they tap the maple sap to make syrup. It consists of having a huge meal, pretty much smothered in maple syrup and maple taffy, and all sorts of deliciousness. I  think I ate pretty well and didn’t go over board, but no matter how you slice it, it’s not really health food.  All in all, I think the day was not bad. I have been able to get out running all long-weekend long so that’s been nice. The body feels good and the mind feels great.

I’ve been giving it lots of thought the last little while, and I’m starting to consider seeing someone about the night-time eating. I don’t know if it actually qualifies as disordered eating, but I can say that I think I’m at a point where I need some outside help. I think I’ll start doing some research into this and see what’s available to me in my city.

 

Leave a Reply

