Giving up Splenda

Alright folks, I’ve made a decision the other day that I’m going to try to give up Splenda and make my way back to real sugar.

Splenda-Sweetener-Bag

Now I don’t bake with it, but I do use it everyday in my coffee. To start to pare down, let’s be honest about my Splenda consumption:

  1. Morning coffee with 1 teaspoon
  2. Morning oatmeal with 1 teaspoon
  3. Late morning/Afternoon Coffees  (2-3 depending on the day) – 1 packet with each coffee.
  4. If I make a hot chocolate at night, I use 1 tablespoon with unsweetened cocoa.

Okay. So not great. I’ve started by switching my coffee/oatmeal to 1 tsp of sugar. It makes my coffee MUCH less sweet, but I want to re-adjust my tastebuds.  I’m assuming I won’t be able to do it all in one shot, so I’m going bit by bit.  Today I had my 2 morning coffees with 1 tsp sugar each and my oatmeal with 1 tsp sugar. I can already say the second coffee tasted much sweeter than the first. Small changes… 🙂

2 thoughts on “Giving up Splenda

  1. Good for you – you can do it! I took sugar in coffee and tea all my life til in my mid-30s, when I had to stop consuming all sugar for health reasons. I was later able to eat sugar again, but I had actually lost the taste for it in my coffee and tea and never went back to sweetening my hot drinks again. So I know from experience it’s possible to change your sugar habits, even after a very long time. Good luck!!!

    • Thank you! I know I can do it, I just have to push through and not fall back. Day 2 and I’m doing okay. Funny thing is last night I went out and afterwards was craving a late night snack – but not something sweet and sugary, but savory. This was new!

Leave a Reply

