Weigh-in Week 166 : Well that’s encouraging

Eek! Such a late post. Not because I didn’t want to write it, but because work became insane this week. I worked a 14hr day followed by a 17 hr day (yes that’s right…6am-11pm people!) and then another two full 12hr days so finishing this post just wasn’t going to happen. The weekend was full of errands and meet ups with friends that I couldn’t get in during the week. I was speaking with a friend of mine this week who works for a large international touring company, and as some of you who have been reading for a while know I work in theatre and tv/film. He had a good point which is that most people enjoy the idea of working in our industries, but not the reality. Ain’t that the truth. We’re not known for our healthy habits or healthy work-personal life ratios. Trying to find strategies with this unconventional workplace/hours is a challenge, but I’m not giving up.  So here’s the post I started to write on Tuesday:

Well, well well. It would seem that not eating whatever you want at night and actually writing down what you eat helps! 😉  I was down 1.8lbs at weigh-in yesterday for a new weight of 156.6lbs and a total loss of 95lbs. It’s amazing how much better I feel after being down only 1.8lbs. I feel lighter and my pants feel better. I need to remember this feeling to keep me going. I love not waking up full from the night before, I love how good I feel when I don’t overeat. After all these years (seriously, I’m up to week 166!) why do I still not learn? Why is it so easy to forget? Why is it sometimes the most difficult thing in the world?

I’ve noticed that if I eat something more point (calorie) heavy during the day I am less inclined to eat at night mindlessly. I also noticed that if in the late afternoon/early evening if I have something substantial I am also less inclined to eat a lot at night. It doesn’t have to be a full dinner, but something hearty and I’m all good. This makes things a bit easier. I think I could easily make myself a sandwich without  too much hassle. One day at work we ordered pizza – I had one slice of vegetarian. Just the one. Tracked it and moved on. It was really nice to feel in control again.

Here’s an update on the splenda vs. sugar switch. It’s actually going really well!! I don’t now why I was so worried/afraid. I’ve noticed that I’m not longer craving the sweetness of splenda. I’m satisfied with my one teaspoon of sugar in my coffee. I’m hoping that eventually I’ll be able to ween myself off the sugar in the coffee entirely.

Here are a few of my lunches this past week. I try to always opt for the protein – either chicken breast or fish  – and always have a green salad with spinach and then some cooked vegetables.

Montr+®al-20130625-00062

Montr+®al-20130626-00063

2 thoughts on “Weigh-in Week 166 : Well that’s encouraging

Leave a Reply

